This Soup is Green

I do not mean to say that it is energy-efficient or psychoactive. It just turns out sort of green, unless you add my final, secret (expensive) ingredient. In which case it turns out slightly brown-ish, but decadently delicious.

Have I gotten you curious yet?

What it is, is a simple Spinach and Broccoli soup finished with Saffron threads.

This is based on a a recipe from one of my favorite cookbooks, “The New Basics” by Julee Rosso and Sheila Lukins.

Here’s what to do:

Take two heads of broccoli, chop off and crumble the florets, and peel away the rough outer parts of the stems and slice them. Don’t waste the stems; they add fiber and flavor.

Simmer some prepared onion (and/or leek, shallot), garlic and carrot in butter or oil. I season this with a bit of chili powder or smoked paprika, and perhaps a dash of Tamari or Bragg’s. You could also add a dash of white wine at this point, if you have it lying around. When your onions are nearly translucent, add the broccoli stems and florets and a chopped (or can of) tomato. Add several cups of vegetable stock, reduce heat, and cover for about 20 minutes.

Add some fresh spinach and dashes of cardamom and nutmeg. Cook for a minute or two while stirring, then puree with an immersion blender.

Here’s where we have fun and waste money on what is otherwise an economical comfort food. I would’ve never thought to try it in soup, but I had some extra Saffron sitting around from another experimental recipe, and it seemed like a good idea. Saffron is exorbitantly over-priced, and comes packaged in what I would have previously described as a crack-vial. I will now call it a Saffron-vial, because I think it would be disrespectful to Saffron to belittle it in such a fashion. If I understand this correctly, Saffron is the stamen of a particular type of crocus plant, each one of which must be tweezer-plucked by hand. Crack is way easier to get than that.

So, by all means put it in your Spinach Soup. Stir a vial or so into an eight-serving pot of this, I dare you.

I’ll never go back. (Don’t smoke Saffron, kids.)

About this entry