I Couldn’t Sleep, So I Made Soup

It’s really good soup, too, almost worth the insomnia.

It’s a pretty basic “cream of” chicken and mushroom. I was going to call it a vichyssoise, but that sounded pretentious and I’m not sure it’s entirely accurate.

Here’s what I did:

Rough chop about 1/4 yellow onion, 2 stalks celery, and some carrot. Feel free to use the pre-chipped carrots for convenience and don’t waste too much effort on perfect dicing, as you’re going to blend the soup at the end.

In a good-sized soup pot, heat some butter and olive oil. Don’t skimp on either; you’ll be making a roux, and this soup isn’t exactly meant to be health-food. Add your mirepoix blend and heat for a few minutes on low/medium while you chop up some chicken thighs. (I used 3 and froze the rest of the package.)

Add a bit more butter (if needed) and some flour to your mirapoix and stir. It doesn’t matter if your roux is a bit on the chunky side. It might stick, but it will disperse in the finished soup and give a nice browned flavor.

Add the chicken with some salt or Worcestershire and let the chicken brown. It doesn’t have to be completely done at this stage, as it will get some more cooking, but you want it pretty close.

Rough chop some fresh mushrooms (I used several white, a portobelo, and two trumpet) as well as some green onion and fresh oregano. Add these to the pot, give a good stir, and add a little more olive oil as needed to coat them. At this point I also added a few splashes of red wine vinegar, because I like the taste of it with cooked mushrooms.

I had some excellent leftover chicken stock from a crock-pot dish earlier in the week, so I added it and about half a carton of vegetable stock to the mixture once the mushrooms had sweated and cooked down a bit. I brought the stock up to a simmer (but not a boil) and used my stick-blender to puree the ingredients, then added a few dashes of good quality balsamic vinegar. Lastly, I killed the heat on the stove and added some heavy cream and parmesan cheese I had in the fridge.

I gotta tell you, it’s fantastic. You’re welcome, people who are able to sleep.

/ah

About this entry